VOX: One of the most talked about dystopian fiction books and Sunday Times best sellers

VOX: One of the most talked about dystopian fiction books and Sunday Times best sellers

3.54 (59,755 Ratings by Goodreads)
Paperback | English
ISBN13: 9780008300678
Condition: USED Quantity
- +
20+ item(s) in stock
£8.99
£3.05
imageWishlist This
  • image This purchase will help support literacy campaigns across the world
  • image BUY ONE GIVE ONE

`This book will blow your mind.' PRIMA

`Intelligent, suspenseful, provocative, and intensely disturbing - everything a great novel should be.' LEE CHILD

`A novel ripe for the era of #MeToo.' VANITY FAIR

`Thought-provoking and set to dominate dinner party chats.' COSMOPOLITAN

`A dazzling debut.' GOOD HOUSEKEEPING

`A truly compulsive novel.' STYLIST

`Thought-provoking and thrilling. I was left speechless!' WOMAN & HOME

`The book of the moment!' MARIE CLAIRE

Silence can be deafening.

Jean McClellan spends her time in almost complete silence, limited to just one hundred words a day. Any more, and a thousand volts of electricity will course through her veins.

Now the new government is in power, everything has changed. But only if you're a woman.

Almost overnight, bank accounts are frozen, passports are taken away and seventy million women lose their jobs. Even more terrifyingly, young girls are no longer taught to read or write.

For herself, her daughter, and for every woman silenced, Jean will reclaim her voice. This is only the beginning...

[100 WORD LIMIT REACHED]

Type Book
Number Of Pages 400
Item Height 30 mm
Item Width 128 mm
Item Weight 280 Gram
Product Dimensions 128 x 30 x 196
Publisher HQ
Format Paperback | 400

`A petrifying re-imagining of The Handmaid's Tale in the present, and a timely reminder of the power and importance of language.' Marta Bausells, ELLE

`This book will blow your mind. PRIMA

`VOX is intelligent, suspenseful, provocative, and intensely disturbing - everything a great novel should be.' LEE CHILD

`I can't remember the last time I read a book quite this thrilling. VOX is, like all the best dystopian novels, razor sharp and terrifyingly plausible. It is extraordinary.' LOUISE O'NEILL

`A bold, brilliant and unforgettable debut.' ALICE FEENEY

`A truly compulsive novel.' STYLIST

`Thought-provoking and thrilling. I was left speechless!'
WOMAN & HOME

`A novel ripe for the era of #MeToo.' VANITY FAIR

`A dazzling debut.' GOOD HOUSEKEEPING

`VOX is shaping up to be one of my favourite novels of the year!' STYLIST

`Any woman who has ever been shamed into silence will recognise the terrifying vista so vividly portrayed in VOX'
ROISIN INGLE, The Irish Times Women's Podcast

`A dark dystopia...The Handmaid 2.0.' EVENING STANDARD

`Thought-provoking and set to dominate dinner party chats.' COSMOPOLITAN

`If you liked Atwood's novel and Naomi Alderman's The Power, I guarantee you will love this.' THE POOL

`My favourite book of the year so far...' LISA HALL

`VOX has the sort of premise that immediately sets it apart.' IRISH INDEPENDENT

`The book of the moment!' MARIE CLAIRE

`The aftershocks of #MeToo have crept into publishing... For fans of Red Clocks, The Power and The Handmaid's Tale'. SUNDAY TIMES STYLE

`A thought-provoking read on the importance of communication in our relationships, the role we play in the world and our freedom.' PSYCHOLOGIES

Christina Dalcher earned her doctorate in theoretical linguistics from Georgetown University, specializing in the phonetics of sound change in Italian and British dialects. She and her husband split their time between the American South and Naples, Italy. VOX is her debut novel.