Magpie Murders: the Sunday Times bestseller crime thriller with a fiendish twist (Susan Ryeland series, 1)

Magpie Murders: the Sunday Times bestseller crime thriller with a fiendish twist (Susan Ryeland series, 1)

3.94 (81,700 Ratings by Goodreads)
Paperback | English
ISBN13: 9781409158387
Condition: USED Quantity
- +
20+ item(s) in stock
£8.99
£3.43
imageWishlist This
  • image This purchase will help support literacy campaigns across the world
  • image BUY ONE GIVE ONE

'Want to read a great whodunnit? Anthony Horowitz has one for you: MAGPIE MURDERS. It's as good as an Agatha Christie. Better, in some ways. Cleverer.' Stephen King

'The finest crime novel of the year' Daily Mail

*****

Seven for a mystery that needs to be solved . . .
Editor Susan Ryland has worked with bestselling crime writer Alan Conway for years. Readers love his detective, Atticus Pund, a celebrated solver of crimes in the sleepy English villages of the 1950s.
But Conway's latest tale of murder at Pye Hall is not quite what it seems. Yes, there are dead bodies and a host of intriguing suspects, but hidden in the pages of the manuscript lies another story: a tale written between the very words on the page, telling of real-life jealousy, greed, ruthless ambition and murder.
From the creator of Midsomer Murders comes a fiendish mystery perfect for fans of Agatha Christie's Miss Marple and Hercule Poirot.

*****

Praise for Magpie Murders - the gripping Sunday Times bestselling crime thriller:
'Ingenious' Sunday Times

'Thrilling and compelling with a stunning twist' Daily Mail

'A stylish thriller' Sunday Mirror

'A cunning reinvention of the thriller' Mail on Sunday

Type Book
Number Of Pages 560
Item Height 36 mm
Item Width 122 mm
Item Weight 340 Gram
Product Dimensions 122 x 36 x 186
Publisher Orion
Format Paperback | 560
Book Overview Author of MORIARTY and TRIGGER MORTIS, Anthony Horowitz offers up a whodunit like no other in this fiendishly clever new novel.

Want to read a great whodunnit? Anthony Horowitz has one for you: MAGPIE MURDERS. It's as good as an Agatha Christie. Better, in some ways. Cleverer. * Stephen King *
An ingenious novel-within-a-novel whodunit about the death of a crime writer . . . Part crime novel, part pastiche, this magnificent piece of crime fiction plays with the genre while also taking it seriously * Sunday Times *
A cunning re-invention of the thriller formula -- Thriller of the Week * Mail on Sunday *
Superbly written, with great suspects, a perfect period feel and a cracking reveal at the end * Spectator *
A stylish, multi-layered thriller - playful, ingenious and wonderfully entertaining * Sunday Mirror *
Brilliant. Really, really brilliant. I loved it. * Sophie Hannah, author of The Monogram Murders *
Putting two books in one with their plots running side by side makes Magpie Murders difficult to put down and Horowitz fans will thoroughly enjoy a cracking good read * Daily Express *
Although at first glance Horowitz's latest offering appears to be a classic whodunit novel, it will almost certainly prove to be unlike anything you've ever read before, and will have you mulling over its various intrigues in between sittings. * Scotsman *
Anthony Horowitz's new novel is at once a brilliant pastiche of the English village mystery and a hugely enjoyable tale of avarice and skulduggery in the world of publishing . . . a compendium of dark delights * Irish Times *
We loved this Agatha Christie-esque crime novel. A fiendish mystery within a mystery that will have you hooked from page one * Good Housekeeping *
A highly enjoyable twist on the classic whodunnit * Metro *
Horowitz is a superb pasticheur. * Guardian *

Anthony Horowitz is one of the UK's most prolific and successful writers. His novels The House of Silk and Moriarty were Sunday Times Top 10 bestsellers and sold in more than thirty-five countries around the world. His bestselling Alex Rider series for children has sold more than nineteen million copies worldwide. He is also the author of a James Bond novel, Trigger Mortis.

As a TV screenwriter he created both Midsomer Murders and the BAFTA-winning Foyle's War; other TV work includes Poirot, the widely-acclaimed mini-series Collision and Injustice and most recently, New Blood for the BBC. Anthony sits on the board of the Old Vic and regularly contributes to a wide variety of national newspapers and magazines. In January 2014 he was awarded an OBE for services to literature. Anthony Horowitz lives in London.

www.anthonyhorowitz.com

@AnthonyHorowitz