Sovereign (The Shardlake series)

Sovereign (The Shardlake series)

4.17 (26,692 Ratings by Goodreads)
Paperback | English
ISBN13: 9781447285854
Condition: USED Quantity
- +
4 item(s) in stock
imageWishlist This
  • image This purchase will help support literacy campaigns across the world
  • image BUY ONE GIVE ONE

Following on from Dissolution and Dark Fire, Sovereign is the third title in C. J. Sansom's bestselling Shardlake series.

As dramatized on BBC Radio 4's 15 Minute Drama series

Autumn, 1541. King Henry VIII has set out on a spectacular Progress to the North to attend an extravagant submission of his rebellious subjects in York.

Already in the city are lawyer Matthew Shardlake and his assistant Jack Barak. As well as assisting with legal work processing petitions to the King, Shardlake has reluctantly undertaken a special mission for the Archbishop Cranmer - to ensure the welfare of an important but dangerous conspirator being returned to London for interrogation.

But the murder of a local glazier involves Shardlake in deeper mysteries, connected not only to the prisoner in York Castle but to the royal family itself. And when Shardlake and Barak stumble upon a cache of secret papers which could threaten the Tudor throne, a chain of events unfolds that will lead to Shardlake facing the most terrifying fate of the age . . .

'Sansom is a master storyteller' Guardian

'So compulsive that, until you reach its final page, you'll have to be almost physically prised away from it' Sunday Times

'Deeper, stronger and subtler than The Name of the Rose' Independent on Sunday

Type Book
Number Of Pages 688
Item Height 44 mm
Item Width 104 mm
Item Weight 479 Gram
Product Dimensions 104 x 44 x 178
Publisher Pan
Format Paperback | 688
Book Overview The third novel in the compelling Shardlake series

C. J. Sansom was educated at Birmingham University, where he took a BA and then a Ph.D. in history. After practising as a solicitor, he became a full-time writer. His Shardlake series includes Dissolution, Dark Fire, Sovereign, Revelation, Heartstone and Lamentation. He lives in Sussex.