Six Tudor Queens: Jane Seymour, The Haunted Queen: Six Tudor Queens 3

Six Tudor Queens: Jane Seymour, The Haunted Queen: Six Tudor Queens 3

4.15 (5,119 Ratings by Goodreads)
Paperback | English
ISBN13: 9781472227713
Condition: USED Quantity
- +
1 item(s) in stock
£9.99
£3.47
imageWishlist This
  • image This purchase will help support literacy campaigns across the world
  • image BUY ONE GIVE ONE

Jane Seymour: The Haunted Queen by historian Alison Weir, author of the Sunday Times bestsellers Katherine of Aragon: The True Queen and Anne Boleyn: A King's Obsession, is the third enthralling novel in the Six Tudor Queens series. A fascinating look at Henry VIII's third wife. Essential reading for fans of Philippa Gregory and Elizabeth Chadwick.

'Weir is excellent on the little details that bring a world to life' Guardian

THE WOMAN HAUNTED BY THE FATE OF HER PREDECESSOR

Eleven days after the death of Anne Boleyn, Jane Seymour is to marry the King.

She has witnessed the danger and deceit that lie behind courtly play, and knows she must bear a son . . . or face ruin.

Queen Jane must step out of the shadows cast by Katherine of Aragon and Anne Boleyn, but, in doing so, can she expose a gentler side to the brutal King?

JANE SEYMOUR
THE THIRD OF HENRY'S QUEENS

HER STORY

Acclaimed, bestselling historian Alison Weir draws on new research for her captivating novel, which paints a compelling portrait of Jane and casts fresh light on both traditional and modern perceptions of her. Jane was driven by the strength of her faith and a belief that she might do some good in a wicked world.

History tells us how she died.
This spellbinding novel explores the life she lived.

SIX TUDOR QUEENS. SIX NOVELS. SIX YEARS.

Type Book
Number Of Pages 544
Item Height 32 mm
Item Width 129 mm
Item Weight 360 Gram
Product Dimensions 129 x 32 x 197
Publisher Headline Review
Format Paperback | 544

This six-book series looks likely to become a landmark in historical fiction * The Times *
Alison Weir gives a fresh take on Jane Seymour's life . . . A brilliant and engaging read * Good Housekeeping *
Gripping and utterly compelling . . . Henry VIII's third and - allegedly - best-loved wife is brought vividly to life . . . Not to be missed -- Tracy Borman
Written with the verve of fiction and the authority of history, this is a Jane who is neither a puppet, a pious victim nor a po-faced schemer, but a living, breathing woman, launched on her own emotional journey. Meticulous research is magically transformed into a riveting narrative which takes us into the places non-fiction history cannot reach. It's what Alison Weir does better than anybody - and what historical fiction was created to do -- Sarah Gristwood
Deft, authoritative biographical fiction * Kirkus Reviews *
This brilliant book is a bombshell! Jane Seymour the shy mouse type? Think again! . . . She is vibrant, determined and she sets the King's court on fire . . . A magnificent novel - you'll never forget her! -- Kate Williams
Hugely enjoyable . . . Alison Weir knows her subject and has a knack for the telling and textural detail * Daily Mail *
Combining her authority as a historian with her skill as a novelist, in telling Jane Seymour's story Alison has once again brought the past enthrallingly to life, as only she can. The Haunted Queen is another classic - in the great tradition of historical fiction -- Josephine Ross
Vivid characters and a wonderful sense of time and place combine with the story of a gentle, kind heroine who I really cared about, the more so because she was so cruelly robbed of her life at the moment of her greatest happiness -- Barbara Erskine
Weir does an excellent job of bringing the pages of history to life; creating living, breathing characters with flaws and weaknesses like our own * Bookbag *
Weir's impressive novel shows why Jane deserves renewed attention . . . This third volume in Weir's exceptional Six Tudor Queens series offers new angles on its earlier subjects [Katherine and Anne] . . . Weir keeps the tension high, breathing new life into a familiar tale and making us wish for a different ending * Booklist *
This retelling portrays Jane as a lady of principle. Meticulously researched and richly rewarding * Candis Magazine *
A triumph of fine detail and research and offers a complex depiction of an endlessly fascinating woman -- Elizabeth Fremantle
Alison Weir's wonderfully detailed novel offers a spellbinding solution to the mystery of Anne [Boleyn's] true nature . . . Enthralling -- Sarah Gristwood
Well researched and engrossing * Good Housekeeping *
Alison Weir makes history come alive as no one else -- Barbara Erskine

Alison Weir is the top-selling female historian in the United Kingdom, and has sold over 2.7 million books worldwide. She has published eighteen history books, including Elizabeth the Queen, Eleanor of Aquitaine, The Lady in the Tower and Elizabeth of York, and eight historical novels. Her latest biography is Queens of the Conquest, and her latest novel is Jane Seymour: The Haunted Queen, the third in her Six Tudor Queens series.