The House Between Tides: WATERSTONES SCOTTISH BOOK OF THE YEAR 2018

The House Between Tides: WATERSTONES SCOTTISH BOOK OF THE YEAR 2018

3.76 (7,177 Ratings by Goodreads)
Paperback | English
ISBN13: 9781473683143
Condition: USED Quantity
- +
3 item(s) in stock
£8.99
£3.62
imageWishlist This
  • image This purchase will help support literacy campaigns across the world
  • image BUY ONE GIVE ONE

A WATERSTONES SCOTTISH BOOK OF THE MONTH PICK!

*******

'Scotland's Outer Hebrides provides the sensuous setting for this impressive debut...a beautifully crafted novel.' - Publishers Weekly

A captivating story of a crumbling estate in the wilds of Scotland, its century-old secret and an enduring mystery. Perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Tracy Rees.

Following the death of her last living relative, Hetty Deveraux leaves London and her strained relationship behind for Muirlan, her ancestral home in Scotland - now in ruins. As Hetty dives headfirst into the repairs, she discovers a shocking secret protected by the house for a hundred years.

With only whispered rumours circulating among the local villagers and a handful of leads to guide her, Hetty finds the power of the past is still affecting her present in startling ways.

Type Book
Number Of Pages 400
Item Height 28 mm
Item Width 128 mm
Item Weight 280 Gram
Product Dimensions 128 x 28 x 196
Publisher Hodder Paperbacks
Format Paperback | 400

There is an echo of Daphne du Maurier's Rebecca in Sarah Maine's appealing debut novel * The Independent *
A tremendous accomplishment. So assured, so well-judged, and with such an involving story to tell, this might be the author's fifth or sixth novel, not her first. A literary star is born! -- Ronald Frame, author of The Lantern Bearers and Havisham
...it came as a great surprise to learn that this was the author's debut novel. I predict great things for Sarah Maine * The Book Bag *
Scotland's Outer Hebrides provides the sensuous setting for [this] impressive debut...[a] beautifully crafted novel. * Publishers Weekly *
Maine skillfully balances a Daphne du Maurier atmosphere with a Barbara Vine-like psychological mystery...The setting emerges as the strongest personality in this compelling story, evoking passion in the characters as fierce as the storms which always lurk on the horizon. A debut historical thriller which deftly blends classic suspense with modern themes. * Kirkus Reviews *

Sarah Maine was born in England but grew up partly in Canada before returning to England for university. She studied archaeology and for many years worked in the profession but is now a freelance writer and researcher. Sarah's debut novel The House Between Tides (previously Bhalla Strand 2014) was re-published by Hodder & Stoughton in 2018. Beyond the Wild River (2017) is her second novel and Women of the Dunes will be published in 2018.