Jamaica Inn (Virago Modern Classics)

Jamaica Inn (Virago Modern Classics)

3.88 (35,179 Ratings by Goodreads)
Paperback
ISBN13: 9781844080397
Condition: NEW Quantity
- +
20 item(s) in stock
$12.36
$11.17
imageWishlist This
  • image This purchase will help support literacy campaigns across the world
  • image BUY ONE GIVE ONE

After the death of her mother, Mary Yellan crosses the windswept Cornish moors to Jamaica Inn, the home of her Aunt Patience. There she finds Patience a changed woman, downtrodden by her domineering, vicious husband Joss Merlyn. The inn is a front for a lawless gang of criminals, and Mary is unwillingly dragged into their dangerous world of smuggling and murder. Before long she will be forced to cross her own moral line to save herself.

Type Book
Number Of Pages 320
Item Height 30 mm
Item Width 128 mm
Item Weight 270 Gram
Product Dimensions 128 x 30 x 199
Publisher Virago
Format Paperback | 320
Book Overview * Du Maurier launch spearheads the Virago 30th Birthday celebrations * National and regional press ad campaign in May highlighting consumer competition to win a holiday in a National Trust cottage in Du Maurier country - all copies stickered with details *Full range of POS material * Major feature on www.virago.co.uk * High-profile presence at the LBF in March and the Du Maurier festival in May * Submitted for trade promotions

Daphne du Maurier has no equal * Sunday Telegraph *
A true classic * Amazon.com *
Jamaica Inn is perhaps the most accomplished historical romance ever written * Good Book Guide *
Jamaica Inn is a first-rate page-turner * The Times *
A dark tale. A brilliant thriller * Daily Express *
A perfect fusion of gothic romance and a young woman's rite of passage in the vein of Twilight and Wuthering Heights * Independent *
A dark tale. A brilliant thriller * Daily Express *

Daphne du Maurier (1907-89) was born in London, the daughter of the famous actor-manager Sir Gerald du Maurier and granddaughter of George du Maurier, the author and artist. In 1931 her first novel, The Loving Spirit, was published. A biography of her father and three other novels followed, but it was the novel Rebecca that launched her into the literary stratosphere and made her one of the most popular authors of her day. In 1932, du Maurier married Major Frederick Browning, with whom she had three children.
Many of du Maurier's bestselling novels and short stories were adapted into award-winning films, including Alfred Hitchcock's The Birds and Nicolas Roeg's Don't Look Now. In 1969 du Maurier was awarded a DBE. She lived most of her life in Cornwall, the setting for many of her books.